Best be booking you flights and finding your accommodation because BIGSOUND 2014 just keeps getting better! Today the event’s organisers has strengthened its speaker line-up for what will be its most diverse range of industry players yet. Not only that, but they’ve also finalised the last few artists for the live line-up, including two winners of triple j Unearthed’s BIGSOUND Live competition.

Joining the already stellar list of conference panellists are artists including Russell Morris, Megan Washington, Sam Cromack (Ball Park Music) and Shane Nicholson; label execs Darius Van Armen (Jagjaguar / Secretly Canadian), Mark Holland (EMI) and Nathan McLay (Future Classic); bookers Rahul Kukreja (Livescape Malaysia), Jessica Ducrou (Village Sounds) and Woody McDonald (Meredith & Golden Plains); digital experts including Spotify’s Will Page (UK) and next Big Sound’s Liv Buli (US); as well as media including influential blogger The Fader’s Emilie Friedlander (US), CMJ’s Matt McDonald (USA), triple j music director Richard Kingsmill, and FasterLouder / Mess+Noise’s managing editor Darren Levin.

The speaker line-up also includes indie vinyl retailer Jet Black Cat’s Shannon Logan, managers Dan Biddle (The McClymonts) and Jodie Regan (Tame Impala, Pond), UTS Sydney’s Institute of Sustainable Futures director Laura Wynne, The Corner’s Erin Lyall, influential UK metal promoter and manager Andy Farrow and New Zealand label head Alex Turnbull from The Rhythm Group.

Today’s announced speakers join an already epic group with the likes of Neil Finn, the church, Peter Noble, Anthony Fantano (The Needle Drop), Tom Windish (The Windish Agency, USA) and  Lee Rickard (Burger Records USA).

For the final announcement of live acts the two triple j Unearthed competition winners WAAX and The Furrs will join the fray along with Saskwatch, The Love Junkies, Buckman Coe (CAN), Rob Moir (CAN), Lunatics on Pogosticks, Little Odessa, Spookyland, Jordan Klassen (CAN), Wax Witches and Blaq Carrie.

With special rates tickets for this year’s event closing this Friday 8th August at midnight via, now’s the time to work out your trip to Brisbane for BIGSOUND!


Darius Van Arman – Secretly Group (USA)
Russell Morris – Artist (AUS)
Emilie Friedlander – The Fader (USA)
Jessica Ducrou – Village Sounds (AUS)
Mardi Caught – Atlantic Records (YES)
Will Page – Spotify (UK)
Richard Kingsmill – triple j (AUS)
Nathan McLay – Future Classic (AUS)
Mark Holland – EMI Recorded Music Australia (AUS)
Pip Newby – Play It Again Sam (UK)
Liv Buli – Next Big Sound (USA)
Alex Turnbull – Rhythm Group (NZ)
Andy Farrow – Northern Music Co. (UK)
Paul Adams – Beat The Drum Management (USA)
Shane Nicholson – Lost Highway Records (AUS)
Jodie Regan – Spinning Top Music (AUS)
Linda Bosidis – Mushroom Music Publishing (AUS)
Woody McDonald – Meredith Music Festival (AUS)
Tim Charles – Ne Obliviscaris & Welkin Entertainment (AUS)
Zan Rowe – triple j (AUS)
Eleanor McGuiness – Pitch & Smith (UK)
Megan Washington – Artist (AUS)
Lochlan Watt – triple j’s The Racket (AUS)
Evelyn Morris – Pikelet (AUS)
Tim Shiel – Artist (AUS)
Liam McGorry – Saskwatch / Dorsal Fins (AUS)
Josh Iden – Panache (USA)
Sarah Richardson – Bleached Communications (UK)
Millie Millgate – Sounds Australia (AUS)
Alastair Burns – Heartstop Music (AUS)
Andrew Stafford – Author (AUS)
Anita Nedeljkovic – Corner Presents (AUS)
Dan Biddle – Artist Manager (AUS)
Darren Levin – FasterLouder / Mess&Noise (AUS)
Erin Lyall – Corner Presents (AUS)
Esti Zilber – Sounds Australia (AUS)
Michael Dwyer – Rolling Stone, Fairfax Media (AUS)
Jake Cleland – The Vine / Pitchfork (AUS)
Fee Banford Bracher – 3RRR (AUS)
Kahl Wallace – The Medics (AUS)
Laura Wynne – Institute Of Sustainable Futures, UTS (AUS)
Lucy Collier – Amplifire Music (AUS)
Tim Byron – Music Journalist (AUS)
Luke O’Shea – Artist (AUS)
Matt McDonald – CMJ (USA)
Matthew Rogers – We Are Unified (AUS)
Maya Janeska – We Are Unified (AUS)
Sarah Smith – FasterLouder, Sound Alliance (AUS)
Mike Solo – Birds Robe Records (AUS)
Paul Barclay – ABC Radio National (AUS)
Rahul Kukreja – Livescape Group (Malaysia)
Sammy Shirra-Moore – Music Matters Live (SGP)
Sari Delmar – Audio Blood Inc (CAN)
Shannon Logan – Jet Black Cat Music (AUS)
Steve Harris – Love & Theft Records (AUS)
Tim Hollo – Green Music Australia (AUS)
Tim Jones – Pipe & Hat (CAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.